Organizations | Tigris Object Storage Documentation

On this page

Build your team in Tigris with Organizations. Manage all your team’s objects under a single Organization – with billing, role management, and sharing capabilities all in one place. Every Tigris user has an Organization automatically created upon signup and can create additional Organizations as needed.

User roles and permissions

Organizations have two member roles:

The Owner – the user who created the Organization – has the same privileges as an Admin but cannot be removed from the Organization or downgraded from Admin to Member. The Owner is also responsible for the Organization’s billing.

Action Admin Member
Invite organization members YES NO
Set organization permissions YES NO
Rename organization YES NO
Access metrics and usage YES YES
Create new buckets YES YES
Delete buckets YES NO
Manage bucket shares YES NO
Read access to buckets YES NO
Write access to buckets YES NO

Create an Organization

To create a new Organization:

Invite a user to an Organization

To invite a new member to an Organization:

note

Tigris supports logging in natively and logging in with a Fly account. Only users with a Tigris native account may join a Tigris Organization. If you’re using your Fly account to login to Tigris, you must use Fly Organizations to manage your team.

If you would like to manage your team in a native Tigris Organization, you can migrate your Fly Organization to a native Tigris Organization. To initiate an account migration, contact us at help@tigrisdata.com. Your data will not move, your access keys will continue to work as normal, and you’ll get a separate Tigris bill.

Manage Organizations in Fly

If you use Fly to login to Tigris, Tigris will use the Fly Organization to manage access. All changes to Fly Organizations are reflected in Tigris access controls, but creating a Fly Organization does not create a Tigris Organization. Users who login with Fly must use Fly Organizations.

Manage permissions

To change permissions for a Member:

note

The Organization owner cannot be downgraded to a Member.

Share a bucket with an Organization

To share a bucket with all users in your organization:

Once the bucket is shared, all users in the organization will be able to see it in their dashboard and access its content based on the role you assigned. Users will also be able to create access keys for the shared bucket to access that bucket programmatically.

When the share is revoked, the access keys created by other users in your organization will no longer have access to the bucket.