Sharing Buckets | Tigris Object Storage Documentation

On this page

Tigris allows you to share buckets with other users from your organization or with users from other organizations. This feature allows you to collaborate with other users and organizations without having to create multiple buckets.

Sharing to another user in an organization

To share a bucket to another user in your organization, you need to have the necessary permissions.

If you are the bucket owner, you can share the bucket with other users from your organization. If you are an admin, you can share any bucket from your organization with other users in that organization.

To share a bucket with another user in your organization:

The roles you can assign to the users are:

Once the bucket is shared, the users you shared it with will be able to see it in their dashboard and access its content based on the role you assigned. The users will also be able to create access keys for the shared bucket to access that bucket programmatically.

When the share is revoked, the access keys created by the shared users will no longer have access to the bucket.

Sharing with a team

If you have grouped members of your organization into a Team, you can share a bucket with the whole Team at once instead of adding each user individually.

To share a bucket with a Team:

Once the bucket is shared, all members of the Team — including members added later — will be able to see it in their dashboard and access its content based on the role you assigned. Team members can also create access keys for the shared bucket to access it programmatically.

When you remove a member from the Team, that member immediately loses access to the bucket. When you revoke the Team's share entirely, all members lose access. In both cases, the access keys those users created for the bucket will no longer work.

Sharing with your entire organization

You can also share your buckets with your entire organization.

To share a bucket with all users in your organization:

Once the bucket is shared, all users in the organization will be able to see it in their dashboard and access its content based on the role you assigned. Users will also be able to create access keys for the shared bucket to access that bucket programmatically.

When the share is revoked, the access keys created by other users in your organization will no longer have access to the bucket.

Sharing with another organization

Tigris allows you to share a bucket with users from another organization. This feature is useful when you need to collaborate with users from another organization. The sharing is limited to access keys from the other organization.

To share a bucket with users from another organization:

Once the bucket is shared, the user from the other organization will be able to access the bucket using the access key.

External permissions

An external user (internally referred to as an ExternalCollaborator) has most of the same permissions as a bucket Editor does, but without any administrative permissions (e.g. deleting the bucket).

Full list of permissions